Volkswagen Polo Cup returns for third season


Volkswagen Motorsport today launched the all new TSI Race Polo for Polo R Cup 2012. After two successful seasons, Polo R Cup 2012 will witness a raft of changes, the switch to petrol engines being the biggest one. Powering the Race Polo's now will be a 1.4L TSI engine producing 180 horses and 250Nm of torque. Power will now be transferred via a dual clutch Direct Shift Gearbox (DSG).

This year, participants are slotted under 3 categories: Junior, Pro and Master. Drivers aged between 16 to 26 years and with experience limited to 8 races or less in the last 5 years (in a National Championship) will be part of Junior Category. Drivers aged between 16 to 26 years with experience of more than 8 races will be a part of the Pro Category. Master category will comprise of drivers who are 26 years or above at the time of registration. There is a change in prize money and fee structure as well. Prize money for the race winners are INR 50,000, INR 40,000 and INR 30,000 for 1st, 2nd and 3rd positions respectively. Fee for Junior and Pro categories is INR 7 lakhs while Master category participants’ fee is INR 14 lakhs for the entire season. Each driver has an option to refinance the fee by using their Race Polo bonnet to display their respective sponsorship branding.

The changes made should make the racing faster and more exciting than ever before. They also provides a new challenge for the 20 odd drivers who will be competing this year.