Team Yokohama concludes 2015 on a high

Team Yokohama concluded 2015 on a high, with its seasoned motorsports pair of Rahul Kanthraj and co-driver Vivek Bhatt, winning the Indian Rally Championship (IRC) 2000 class, and the team pair of Karna Kadur and co-driver Vivek Ponnusamy coming on top in the 1600 cc category.

The impressive win comes in the background of back-to-back wins by Bengaluru’s Kanthraj in all the four IRC rounds of the season. Organised by the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI), the rallying series is the biggest in the country. The 2015 season of four rounds saw rallies at Nashik, Coimbatore, Bengaluru and Chikmagalur

“For us, 2015 has been wonderful,” said Sanjay Chatterjee, general manager, sales and marketing, Yokohama India. “We have had podium finishes at all rallies we participated in. We launched Team Yokohama in June and it has won in both the 2000 cc and 1600 cc categories that it competed in. This gives us further incentive to continue with the same combination. We started supporting only one car during the 2007 Raid De Himalaya and now we have a winning combination”

Yokohama in India has been part of major motorsports activities since 2007 and has won the Himalayan car rallies consecutively in 2009, 2010 and 2011.

Added Kanthraj: “Since this is the first year that we participated as a team, we wanted this to be special. We have had a podium finish in all the races for this season. The Yokohama rally tyres, known for their durability and unmatched performance with their ground control, of-course added to the benefit.”

Yokohama has become synonymous to global motorsports;  it has been the sole official tyre supplier to FIA World Touring Car Championship since 2006, and also Formula 3, held in Macau, for the last 31 years.

Globally, other than the replacement business, Yokohama is an original equipment supplier to automakers including Audi, Honda, Mercedes Benz, Mitsubishi, Nissan, Porsche, Suzuki and Toyota.