Jaguar to return to Le Mans


On June 12, as several cars line up for the most famous endurance race on the planet, Jaguar will mark its return to the starting grid after 15 years.

The green liveried XKR GT2, numbered 81 and driven by Marc Goossens, Ryan Dalziel and Paul Gentilozzi will line up for the gruelling 24 hour race. It began its participation earlier this year at the American Le Mans racing circuit to gain valuable experience and track time for the big event in France.

Made from a lightweight aluminium body structure, the XKR GT2 will sport a tuned version of the 5.0-litre supercharged V8 that powers the roadgoing XKR coupe and cabriolet. Power is expected to be in excess of 500 bhp.

Jaguar has had a prolific history in Le Mans, winning as many as seven times from 1951 to 1990. Take a look below to get all the details of Jaguar's wins at the 24-hour endurance race. Year Model Race no Drivers Result Notes (distance and average speeds rounded off to nearest whole figure) 1951 C-type 20 Peter Walker, Peter Whitehead 1st First Jaguar win; 2244 miles, 93 mph 1953 C-type 18 Tony Rolt, Duncan Hamilton 1st Second Jaguar win; 2540 miles, 106 mph 1955 D-type 6 Mike Hawthorn, Ivor Bueb 1st Third Jaguar win; 2570 miles, 107 mph 1956 D-type 4 Ron Flockhart, Ninian Sanderson 1st Ecurie Ecosse entry; fourth Jaguar win; 2507 miles, 104 mph 1957 D-type 3 Ron Flockhart, Ivor Bueb 1st Ecurie Ecosse entry; fifth Jaguar win; 2732 miles, 114 mph 1988 XJR-9LM 2 Jan Lammers, Johnny Dumfries, Andy Wallace 1st TWR Jaguar Sport entry; sixth Jaguar win; 394 laps, 3313 miles, 138 mph 1990 XJR-12 3 John Nielsen, Price Cobb, Martin Brundle 1st TWR Jaguar Sport entry; seventh Jaguar win; 359 laps, 3034 miles, 127 mph