India could host Formula E by 2018

February 10, 2016: Formula E, FIA’s single-seater championship and the world's first fully-electric racing series, might be held in India in about two years.

India has successfully hosted the Formula One Grand Prix three times in the past and might soon get to see Formula E races being held in any of the leading metros, including Delhi, Bangalore and Mumbai.

The inaugural season of Formula E began in Beijing in September 2014, ending in London in June 2015. The series competed in 10 of the world's leading cities. The championship sees nine teams, each with two drivers, racing on temporary city-centre circuits to create a unique and exciting race series designed to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fans.

Formula E aims to represent a vision for the future of the motor industry, serving as a framework for R&D around the electric vehicle, accelerating general interest in these cars and promoting clean energy and sustainability.

It also operates as an 'open championship', allowing teams and manufacturers the opportunity to showcase their own electrical energy innovations. Working to the technical specifications set out by the FIA, teams focus their efforts on improving and developing powertrains and battery technology, with the aim of this filtering into the everyday electric vehicle market.

The championship centres around three core values of Energy, Environment and Entertainment and is a fusion of engineering, technology, sport, science, design, music and entertainment - all combining to drive the change towards an electric future.