Bangalore witness 2014 Maruti Suzuki Autocross

Held for the first time in the city of Bangalore, at the Supernova Arena in Yelahanka - into its 13th year running, 'Maruti Suzuki Autocross witnessed a good rate of participation in an event that was highlighted via roaring engines, screeching car halts and cheering fans. This sort of a competition is just not about speed, its about more precision and skill. An Autocross basically refers to a form of motorsport that emphasizes on safe competition and active participation; in fact it is a timed event wherein drivers have to navigate one at a time and many cases two in one go competing against one another through a defined course on either tarmac or gravel surface.

Bangalore witness 2014 Maruti Suzuki Autocross

On the successful completion of the event, Manohar Bhat, Vice President, Marketing, Maruti Suzuki India, said, “Starting nearly 15 years back, Maruti Suzuki has been the pioneer in promoting motorsports in the country. Every year, we target to reach new markets and strengthen our rallies by introducing new routes, new rallying experience etc. This year’s rally calendar has just kicked off with Bangalore Autocross. Autocross is a stepping stone for drivers who want to ascend as racing drivers and rally professionals. With Autocross 2014, we brought the excitement of rallying to Bangalore. We are overwhelmed with the response and look forward to organising many more such events in the region. In addition, Autocross is a good opportunity to train youngsters on car controls in a safe environment."

With over 150 participants fighting it out for the top honour, the event spanned over two days and provided a 1.3 km technical track comprising of straits, hair pin bends and sharp turns. Divided into different classes ranging from 850cc to 1600cc, the event saw Maruti badge cars won 8 out of 10 categories during the competition. Class 1 comprising of Maruti 800's saw Shabbir A R take top honours followed by Baban Khan in second and Abdul Khader .A.A in third respectively. In 850-1200cc (Class 2), Shabbir A R in his Alto won the class with Lokesh Gowda coming in second in his Zen followed by Shuchindra Gowda in third again in a Zen. Class 3 which comprised of vehicles belonging to 1250-1400cc category featured mostly Esteem with Shabbir A R once again winning the class as B.C Roopesh took second and Lokesh Gowda third.

As for 1400-1600cc (Class 4) it were mainly the Honda's that took all three positions with Den Thimmaiyah grabbing first place followed by Michu Ganapathy in second and Syed Salman Ahmed in third position. This competition has a separate category for women which upto 1400cc where in Ashika Menezes driving Esteem out shined Athira Murali in an Alto and Sandhya in Polo in their class. Moving to the 4x4 category, it was Shahid Khan who took the top spot in his Gypsy followed in closely by Anand Kumar in a Tata and Vijay Krishna again in a Gypsy. There was also a Corporate Class that saw Sunith K win his category with the Novices Class going to Babno Machaiahe, Diesel Class being won by Lokesh Gowda and the Open Category (up to 1600cc) been won by Suhem Kabir.

Source : CarDekho