Close [X]

Tata Motors launches global crowd-sourcing contest for new name for Zica

Tata Motors on Friday announced a global crowd-sourcing contest to finalise the new name for its hatchback Zica, which is being renamed to avoid confusion with the deadly virus, Zika.

It launched the #Fantastico Name Hunt, a crowd-sourcing activity for all netizens to suggest a new name for its cool hatchback, previously named – Zica (acronym derived from Zippy Car).

The stylish hatchback has been showcased publicly for the first time at the Auto Expo 2016 in Greater Noida. While it carries the ‘Zica’ label for the duration of the event, the new name will be announced after a few weeks, ensuring all necessary consumer/ branding and regulatory aspects are addressed. The launch will take place thereafter.

Through the contest – #Fantastico Name Hunt, the company will be looking forward to suggestions from its fans and audiences around the world to share what they think should be the name of the car.

Over the next three days, the company will receive all entries through its social media channels. The hunt for the new name will end at 23:59 IST, 18:29 GMT and 13:29 EST on February 7. Tata Motors will further shortlist these entries for viewers to vote for their favourite name.

One of the lucky contestants whose selection matches the final name, stands a chance to win the car (if within India) or win a reward of equal value, if located outside India.

The contest is being conducted on social media and mobile platforms with entries being accepted via SMS and WhatsApp, making it easier for customers to share their nominations. With this, Tata Motors looks forward to introducing more such innovative and engaging initiatives to ensure enhanced customer participation and engagement.

The new car is backed by Tata Motors’ “Made of Great” campaign, with the motto, “What drives us from within is what makes us great”.