JK Racing Asia Series goes international


And now the JK Racing Asia Series heads to Europe. It's unusual to have a series that features 'Asia' in its name going to Europe, but nomenclature aside, this is terrific news for the series and the drivers too.

The JK Racing Asia Series, essentially the renamed version of the Formula BMW Pacific Series, is an six-round series that starts with the first round in Malaysia between the 25th and 27th of May. While most of the tracks are the in Asia, the series now goes international with a round at the Paul Ricard track in France and another one at Spa in Belgium. Two of the races on the calendar - Singapore and India - will run as support events to Formula 1.

Three Indian drivers are also set to take to the grid in the first race of the Racing Asia Series that will take place in Malaysia - Vishnu Prasad (2011 Volkswagen Polo R-Cup champion), Raj Bharath and Sandeep Kumar. 

2012 JK Racing Asia Series Calendar

Round 1 Sepang International Circuit (Malaysian Super Series) Malaysia May 25-27

Round 2 Paul Ricard (Blancpain Endurance Series) France June 29 - July 1

Round 3 Spa Francorchamps (24 Hours of Spa) Belgium July 27-29

Round 4 Marina Bay (Singapore GP) Singapore September 21-23

Round 5 Buddh International Circuit (Indian Grand Prix) India October 26-28

Round 6 Buddh International Circuit (FIA GT1 Championship) India Nov 30 - Dec 2