F1: Webber takes pole in Spain


It was Red Bull all the way through qualifying at the 2010 Spanish Grand Prix. Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel scrapped for position through the session, with competition from both the McLarens. It was Webber who was the quicker of the two drivers during both the first and second practice sessions. In Q3 it looked as though Sebastian Vettel might manage to hold off his team-mate, but it was not to be. Webber managed to clinch the fastest time in the last few seconds of the qualifying session.


Behind the Red Bull drivers, it was Lewis Hamilton in the first of the McLarens who took third spot on the grid, while Fernando Alonso took fourth spot and Lewis' McLaren team-mate, Jenson Button, finished fifth.

It was good news for Michael Schumacher and the Mercedes GP team. Schumi, who looked more comfortable this weekend, outqualified his team-mate Nico Rosberg for the first time this season, finishing in sixth place. Rosberg finished eighth. Renault's Robert Kubica finished the session seventh.

Karun Chandhok was the quicker of the two HRT driver, qualifying 23rd, while his team-mate Bruno Senna will start from 24th and last on grid.


Qualifying times from the Spanish GP

1.  Webber         Red Bull-Renault        1:19.995 

2.  Vettel         Red Bull-Renault       1:20.101 

3.  Hamilton       McLaren-Mercedes        1:20.829 

4.  Alonso         Ferrari               1:20.937 

5.  Button         McLaren-Mercedes        1:20.991 

6.  Schumacher     Mercedes                1:21.294 

7.  Kubica         Renault                1:21.353 

8.  Rosberg        Mercedes           1:21.408 

9.  Massa          Ferrari                1:21.585 

10.  Kobayashi      Sauber-Ferrari          1:21.984 

11.  Sutil          Force India-Mercedes   1:21.985   

12.  de la Rosa     Sauber-Ferrari          1:22.026   

13.  Hulkenberg     Williams-Cosworth      1:22.131   

14.  Petrov         Renault               1:22.139   

15.  Buemi          Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:22.191   

16.  Alguersuari    Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1:22.207   

17.  Liuzzi         Force India-Mercedes   1:22.854   

18.  Barrichello    Williams-Cosworth      1:23.125

19.  Trulli         Lotus-Cosworth         1:24.674

20.  Kovalainen     Lotus-Cosworth         1:24.748

21.  Glock          Virgin-Cosworth        1:25.475

22.  di Grassi      Virgin-Cosworth        1:25.556

23.  Chandhok       HRT-Cosworth           1:26.750

24.  Senna          HRT-Cosworth           1:27.122