F1: Hamilton wins Belgian Grand Prix


Lewis Hamilton took a fine victory for McLaren, dominating the Belgian Grand Prix from start to finish. Hamilton capitalised on a poor start from pole man, Mark Webber at the Spa-Francorchamps track. Webber's Red Bull went into anti-stall mode when the red lights went out, and Hamilton, Robert Kubica, Sebastian Vettel and Jenson Button were all able to make their way past him.

And then came the rain, early on in the race, causing plenty of slips and slides at the Bus Stop chicane. Race leader Hamilton ran wide, so did several of the other front runners. Rubens Barrichello had a tangle with Fernando Alonso, as a result of which he had a premature end to his 300th grand prix. Alonso, however, was able to continue his race.


More clashes ensued, when Vettel's attempts to get past Button led to contact between the two. Vettel tried to go down the inside at the Bus Stop, hit a bump, and then ran into the left side pod on Button's McLaren MP4-25. While Vettel was able to make it to the pits and get a new front nose, Button was out of the race. Vettel was handed a drive-through penalty later on, for causing an avoidable accident.

After serving his penalty, Vettel found himself out behind the Force India of Vitantonio Liuzzi, which came off better than the Red Bull. Five laps later, Liuzzi's team-mate, Adrian Sutil stormed past Michael Schumacher. But Vettel's troubled race was still not over. He managed to clip Liuzzi's front wing with his left rear tyre, puncturing the tyre, and eventually finishing a lap down, without any points.

Michael Schumacher managed to finish seventh, having been passed by his team-mate Nico Rosberg who took sixth place for Mercedes. Vitaly Petrov finished ninth with Jaime Alguersuari in tenth.

Up ahead, Mark Webber managed to take second place, ahead of Robert Kubica, after the latter had an unfortunate pitlane incident. Lewis Hamilton was the man on the top step of the podium, though, and is also at the head of the championship standings.

Championship standings after Belgian Grand Prix

1      Lewis Hamilton      British       McLaren-Mercedes      182
2     Mark Webber     Australian     RBR-Renault         179
3     Sebastian Vettel     German     RBR-Renault         151
4     Jenson Button     British     McLaren-Mercedes         147
5     Fernando Alonso     Spanish     Ferrari             141
6     Felipe Massa     Brazilian     Ferrari             109
7     Robert Kubica     Polish     Renault             104
8     Nico Rosberg     German     Mercedes GP         102
9     Adrian Sutil     German     Force India-Mercedes     45
10     Michael Schumacher     German     Mercedes GP     44