F1: Hamilton leads McLaren 1-2


The Canadian GP marked McLaren's second consecutive 1-2 finish, after Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button clinched victory at Montreal. The duo had also managed to get to the top two steps of the podium at the Turkish Grand Prix. Fernando Alonso took third place for Ferrari. It might have been Alonso on the top step of the podium had it not been for him being overtaken by both Red Bulls when trying to make his way past backmarkers.

Tyre strategy is what played a crucial role at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, with Lewis Hamilton on softer compound tyres being caught rather rapidly by Sebastian Vettel, whose Red Bull was shod with hard compound tyres. Similarly, Jenson Button found himself fighting off a hard-charging Mark Webber. Once he was past Button though, it was easy for Red Bull to catch up with the rest of the front-runners. He then made his way past Alonso, and when Hamilton pitted, it was the two Red Bulls at the head of the grid.

After the two Red Bulls pitted, it was Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso who found themselves battling for position behind race leader, Sebastien Buemi. At the end though, it was Hamilton who came out ahead, with Alonso close on his tail. While Hamilton, Alonso, Button and Vettel pitted for the second time, Webber found himself in the lead. But it didn't last too long, with the tyres on the Red Bull wearing out, and backmarkers getting in the way as well. Not too long after, Hamilton caught and passed Webber, and Webber's final pitstop put him down to fifth place. Vettel, meanwhile, had trouble with his car and drove conservatively.

With 15 laps to go in the race, Alonso was trying to get past Karun Chandhok's HRT, when Button managed to pass him. Then, it was Hamilton, Button and Alonso, all the way to the chequered flag.

The race certainly could have been much better for Michael Schumacher. Despite pitting thrice, the Mercedes was not quite able to find its sweet spot and loped around the track 4 seconds off the pace of the leaders in the final stint. Schumacher did have wheel-banging scraps with Robert Kubica, Felipe Massa, and the Force Indias of Vitantonio Liuzzi and Adrian Sutil. The seven-time world champion had to settle for 11th place.

Provisional Results - Canadian GP

Pos  Driver        Team                       Time

01.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes           1h33:53.456

02.  Button        McLaren-Mercedes           +     2.254

03.  Alonso        Ferrari                    +     9.214

04.  Vettel        Red Bull-Renault           +    37.817

05.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault           +    39.291

06.  Rosberg       Mercedes                   +    56.084

07.  Kubica        Renault                    +    57.300

08.  Buemi         Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +     1 lap

09.  Liuzzi        Force India-Mercedes       +     1 lap

10.  Sutil         Force India-Mercedes       +     1 lap

11.  Schumacher    Mercedes                   +     1 lap

12.  Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari         +     1 lap

13.  Hulkenberg    Williams-Cosworth          +     1 lap

14.  Barrichello   Williams-Cosworth          +     1 lap

15.  Massa         Ferrari                    +     1 lap

16.  Kovalainen    Lotus-Cosworth             +    2 laps

17.  Petrov        Renault                    +    2 laps

18.  Chandhok      HRT-Cosworth               +    4 laps

19.  Di Grassi     Virgin-Cosworth            +    5 laps

Driver's Championship

01      Lewis Hamilton      109

02     Jenson Button     106

03     Mark Webber     103

04     Fernando Alonso     94

05     Sebastian Vettel     90

06     Nico Rosberg     74

07     Robert Kubica     73

08     Felipe Massa     67

09     Michael Schumacher     34

10     Adrian Sutil     23

11     Vitantonio Liuzzi     12

12     Rubens Barrichello     7

13     Vitaly Petrov     6

14     Sebastien Buemi     5

15     Jaime Alguersuari     3

Constructor's Championship

01      McLaren-Mercedes      215

02     RBR-Renault     193

03     Ferrari     161

04     Mercedes GP     108

05     Renault     79

06     Force India-Mercedes     35

07     STR-Ferrari     8

08     Williams-Cosworth     8

09     BMW Sauber-Ferrari     1

10     Lotus-Cosworth     0