2009 F1 season - On the Button


"We are the champions," crooned an emotional Jenson Button over the radio as he crossed the finish line at the Brazilian GP, finishing fifth and racking up four championship points, enough to give him the title of Formula 1 World Champion 2009. This was the second time in the recent past, Fernando Alonso had also done this on clinching his championship title in 2005, that an F1 driver had belted out his rendition of the Queen hit. Button becomes the second British driver in a row to be crowned F1 champion, after Lewis Hamilton who won last year, and is the ninth of Her Royal Highness' brave lads to take the title back to Great Britain. As you can imagine, there was celebration aplenty at the Brawn GP camp - the team became the first in F1's 59 year history to claim both driver's and constructor's titles in their debut season. On the flip-side, Button winning the title meant that team-mate Rubens Barrichello's shot at the championship was laid to rest. But Rubinho graciously declared that he was pleased for Jenson and was also happy to have played a part in helping Brawn GP secure the constructor's title. Amidst all the jubilation, it would've been easy to miss the podium ceremony. Red Bull Racing's Mark Webber won the Brazilian GP, with BMW's Robert Kubica coming second and McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton taking third spot on the rostrum. However, the battle for second-place in the championship will only be settled in the final round of the season at Abu Dhabi. With Rubens Barrichello on 72 points, just two points behind Sebastian Vettel, 2009 might just be a Brawn one-two. Meanwhile Button is looking ahead to 2010, to try and become the first British driver ever to successfully defend his championship title. Good luck!